Anonymize one or more customers in your database
Anonymize one or more customers in your database
Configure the bulk anonymization delay. Go to the Settings menu > General configuration > GDPR Block Here you can configure the delay before anonymization of an inactive customer account. After this delay, an automatic scheduled task that runs every day will anonymize all inactive customers. If you do not configure any delay in the field, no automatic anonymization will take place. Don't forget to Save by clicking the button at the bottom of the GDPR block
Chapter 1 - Automatic bulk anonymization - Remember to activate the associated scheduled task
Go to the Administration menu > Scheduled tasks > search for the task called "Anonymization of all inactive customers or users in the system" > make sure the status is set to "ACTIVE", otherwise click the "INACTIVE" button and confirm the activation. This scheduled task will automatically anonymize inactive customers in the system every morning at 06:00.
Chapter 2: Manual bulk anonymization
If you do not wish to enable automatic anonymization, you can always, at a time of your choosing, go to the scheduled task in the back office and manually launch the anonymization of your inactive customers. To do this, click the purple "Execute the task" button. Warning: it is possible that you may then have a large number of customers to anonymize at once and that you will need to Execute the task several times in order to process all cases. You can in any case consult the history of the anonymization scheduled task. To do this, click the "view history" button.
History data
The history tells you:
- The date and time of the last execution of the scheduled task.
- The number of customers anonymized during the last execution of the task.
- Whether the task was executed manually or automatically and by which back office user.
Chapter 3 - Anonymizing a specific customer
If you do not want to anonymize your customers in bulk, or if you wish to anonymize a customer who does not meet the login conditions presented in step 8, you can anonymize them from their customer file by clicking the "Anonymize" this customer button. Warning: in this case the customer must not have a rental with a status other than completed or cancelled, otherwise the anonymization will be rejected. Confirm the anonymization to save.
Effects of anonymization in the back office
Once your customer has been anonymized, their customer account in the back office will no longer contain any personal data, which will be replaced by the terms "anonymous" and an encrypted email address. In the configuration, you can choose to enter an anonymization code. If this field is filled in, all anonymized customer data will carry this code. For example: 8888. Don't forget to save your configuration. Result of anonymization in the back office with a configured code
Effects of anonymization in the front office
The customer whose account has been anonymized will no longer be able to access their account on the front end and will see this error when trying to log in.
Chapter 5 - Erasing phone numbers
If you wish to erase only the phone numbers of your inactive customers more regularly, you can also define a delay in the same GDPR block in the delay before phone number erasure field. Warning: this delay is in days and not in months. Use the scheduled task "Deletion of all phone numbers of inactive customers in the system". You can choose automatic activation or manual use (see steps 4 and 5). You can also consult the execution history of the task. The conditions for a customer to be considered inactive are the same as in step 8.
Chapter 6 - Erasing custom Customer fields
If you collect data about your customers in custom fields, remember to schedule their automatic deletion. To do this, 2 fields must be configured at the level of each custom customer field:
- Its deletion delay once the customer account has become inactive
- Its deletion delay once the customer's last rental has been completed or cancelled
Activate the scheduled task "Deletion of customer custom field data" so that customer custom field data is deleted.